Police Commission Duties and Responsibilities

The UCCM Anishnaabe Police Service Commission is an incorporated body pursuant to the laws of Ontario, without share capital, and is the police governing authority and the employer of the members of the UCCM Anishnaabe Police Service.

The relationship between the Commission and the Chief of Police is a respected one. The Chief of Police oversees the operations of the organization, and will contact the Commission for guidance with issues when necessary. The Commission protects the interests of the Police Service, and respects all employees working within the organization.

The Commission consists of members from the five First Nations, on and near Mnidoo Mnising (Manitoulin Island). Each First Nation appoints one representative and an alternate to serve on the Police Commission. There is also one representative on the Commission from each of the following groups: Elders, Women, and Youth. Some of the responsibilities of the Police Service Commission include the following:

  1. To govern the UCCM Anishnaabe Police Service by generally providing direction, planning and policies;
  2. To maintain order, discipline, and efficiency;
  3. To obtain and maintain liability insurance;
  4. To be responsible for the financial management of the funds provided under the Tripartite Funding Agreement; and
  5. To provide an annual report to the United Chiefs and Councils of Mnidoo Mnising (UCCMM) Board (Tribal Council) on the activities of the Police Service.
For additional responsibilities and information regarding the Police Service Commission please review By-Law No. 1.


Police Commission Executive Members

Chairperson: Peter Nahwegahbo
Vice-Chairperson: Christine Bigras
Secretary/Treasurer: Don Francis

Don Francis
Member of: Whitefish River First Nation

Peter Nahwegahbo
Member of: Aundeck Omni Kaning

Christine Bigras
Member of: Zhiibaahaasing First Nation

Elizabeth Laford
Member of: Sheshegwaning First Nation

Member of: M’Chigeeng First Nation

Alison Aguonia

Member of: Sheguiandah First Nation

Bill Antoine / Elder Representative

Member of: Elder’s Group for U.C.C.M.M.

Please address correspondence to the U.C.C.M.Police Services Commission at:

Attention: Chairperson
UCCM Police Services Commission
5926 – Hwy 540, Box 332
M’Chigeeng First Nation, ON  P0P 1G0
Freedom of Information Act
Image is not available