The United Chiefs & Councils of Manitoulin (UCCM) Anishnaabe Police Service is one of 9 self-administered First Nation police services located in the province of Ontario, Canada.

One of our greatest assets is the ability to work closely with the six First Nations Communities that we serve. As partners in community safety, they continue to be the key to our success towards progressive community policing strategies that include cultural awareness and long-term community wellness activities.

Our dedicated officers and staff welcome the opportunity to serve you and we hope that the information contained on this website will provide you some insight into UCCM Anishnaabe Police Service.

Chi-Miigwetch (Thank-you),
Chief of Police

Service Area

The UCCM Anishnaabe Police Services provides emergency service to the six UCCMM First Nation Communities located on Manitoulin Island and on Highway 6.

The total population of the UCCM Anishnaabe Police Service area is estimated to be close to 2000 people, and the breakdown of population for each First Nation is provided below. During the summer months though, the population can increase as seasonal residents arrive during this time.

Community Policing

Police Commission Responsibilities

The UCCM Anishnaabe Police Service Commission is an incorporated body pursuant to the laws of Ontario, without share capital, and is the police governing authority and the employer of the members of the UCCM Anishnaabe Police Service.

The Commission consists of members from the six First Nations of Mnidoo Mnising and area (Manitoulin Island). Each First Nation appoints one representative to serve on the Police Commission. There is also one Elder representative on the Commission. Some of the responsibilities of the Police Service Commission include the following:

  1. To govern the UCCM Anishnaabe Police Service by generally providing direction, planning and policies;
  2. To maintain order, discipline, and efficiency;
  3. To obtain and maintain liability insurance;
  4. To be responsible for the financial management of the funds provided under the Tripartite Funding Agreement; and
  5. To provide an annual report to the UCCMM Tribal Council on the activities of the Police Service.

For additional responsibilities and information regarding the Police Service Commission please review By Law No. 1 – Revised 9 May 2019

Police Commission

bear icon

Executive Members

Derek Assiniwe

Christine Bigras

Karen McGraw

bear icon

Martha Pitawanakwat
Whitefish River First Nation

Karen McGraw
Aundeck Omni Kaning

Christine Bigras
Zhiibaahaasing First Nation

Nancy Cada
Sheshegwaning First Nation

bear icon

Charles Beaudin
M’Chigeeng First Nation

Derek Assiniwe
Sheguiandah First Nation

Alma Jean Migwans
Elder Representative, UCCMM

Please address correspondence to the UCCM Police Services Commission at:

UCCM Police Services Commission
5926 – Hwy 540, Box 332
M’Chigeeng First Nation, ON P0P 1G0
Attention: Chairperson

Enaag Dawaab Jig – Civilian Oversight Committee

red feathers

The UCCM Anishnaabe Police Services Commission recognized the need for a Civilian Oversight Committee. The Civilian oversight Committee was established to improve police accountability, promote higher standards of police services, and increase public confidence in the UCCM Anishnaabe Police Service and the UCCM Police Service Commission. By-Law No. 2 was developed to meet this need. In October 2010, Denis Blake was hired to further the developments of the Committee, which is called Enaag-Dawaab-Jig, which means “those who oversee”. There are currently five Committee Members from the First Nation communities located on Manitoulin Island.

For more information about Enaag-Dawaab-Jig, please contact Denis Blake, Enaag-Dawaab-Jig Coordinator at 705-862-2701, or please visit their website at:

Enaag Dawaab Jig logo